Skip Navigation

ORAU History - 1946

On October 15, 1946, the Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies (ORINS) received a charter of incorporation from the Tennessee Secretary of State. The first Council meeting was held two days later on October 17; representatives from 19 Southern universities were invited to attend, of which 14 accepted. These 14 were elected as the sponsoring members of the new ORINS consortium.

ORINS would remain the name of this organization until 1966 when the Board of Directors decided to rename the institution to better reflect the role that the member universities played with this growing organization. Oak Ridge Associated Universities became the official name for the organization and today boasts more than 100 university partners.