Skip Navigation

ORAU Announces 25 Research Enhancement Awards

June 14, 2004

OAK RIDGE, Tenn. -- Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) has announced 25 winners of Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards from its member institutions for the 2004-2005 academic year.

The grants of $5,000 each are intended to provide “seed money” to allow faculty members in the first two years of tenure track to enhance their research during the early stages of their careers. Each recipient’s institution matches the ORAU award with an additional $5,000.

The awards recognize work in five science and technology disciplines: engineering and applied science; life sciences; mathematics and computer science; physical sciences; and policy, management, or education. Winning faculty members will use the grants for continuation of research, purchase of equipment, and travel to professional meetings and conferences.

In the 14 years since the program began, ORAU has awarded 257 grants totaling more than $1.1 million. The inclusion of matching funds from member institutions means ORAU has facilitated grants worth more than $2.5 million.

The Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award program was named for Ralph E. Powe, who served as the ORAU Councilor from Mississippi State University for 16 years. He served on numerous committees and special projects during his tenure and was elected by his peers as Chair of ORAU’s Council of Sponsoring Institutions prior to his death in 1996.

ORAU plans to offer the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award program again for the 2005-2006 academic year. Faculty members at ORAU member institutions who are within two years of their initial tenure-track appointments as assistant professors are eligible for the grants.

Recipients of the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards for the 2004-2005 academic year are listed below.

Award Recipient Member Institution
Bart Prorok Auburn University
Bruce Z. Gao Clemson University
Chad Sosolik Clemson University
Gregory Dudley Florida State University
Carlotta Domeniconi George Mason University
Erik Larsson George Washington University
Zhengtao Xu George Washington University
Adrienne Minerick Mississippi State University
Rudolf Torsten Clay Mississippi State University
Mark Johnson North Carolina State University
Thomas Pearl North Carolina State University
Xubin He Tennessee Technological University
Brian Harfe University of Florida
Bao Yang University of Maryland
Thomas Murphy University of Maryland
Hashim Al-Hashimi University of Michigan
Mahmoud Reda Taha University of New Mexico
Mahnaz El-Kouedi University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Patricia Hadre University of Oklahoma
Adam Leibovich University of Pittsburgh
Anh-Vu Phan University of South Alabama
Bin Zhao University of Tennessee
Thomas Hou Virginia Tech
Wayne Tarrant Western Kentucky University
Andrew Wulff Western Kentucky University

For more information on fellowships, awards and grants offered by ORAU, visit, or contact Ann Farler at (865) 576-1898 or by e-mail at

ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 100 major Ph.D.-granting institutions, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee
Work: 865.576.3146
Cell: 865.603.5142

Wendy West
Work: 865.576.0028
Cell: 865.207.7953