Skip Navigation

Johns Hopkins University Among Seven New Members of ORAU Consortium

April 14, 2006

OAK RIDGE, Tenn.—Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) welcomed Johns Hopkins University (JHU) as one of the newest members of its university consortium during the 61st annual meeting of the ORAU Council of Sponsoring Institutions held in Oak Ridge.

Along with JHU, Carnegie Mellon University (CMU), Penn State University (PSU), San Diego State University (SDSU) and the University of Texas at Dallas (UTD) have now become the newest ORAU sponsoring institutions. The Council also accepted the applications of Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU) and the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) as associate members.

With these additions, the ORAU Consortium now consists of 96 sponsoring institutions and 13 associate members, representing 28 states as well as the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and London. Membership in the ORAU consortium allows faculty and students at member institutions opportunities to win members-only grants and internships as well as participate in laboratory research at federal facilities, including Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

"This prestigious new class of member institutions brings an incredible array of assets in terms of academic reputation, scientific research, human resources, and innovation in educating the next generation of science and technology leaders," ORAU President Ron Townsend said. "I could not be more pleased to welcome such a diverse group of universities to the ORAU family. I expect that the entire consortium will benefit from the contributions of these newest members for years to come."

With its main campus in Baltimore, JHU has also produced more than 30 Nobel Prize winners among its faculty and former students. Founded in 1876 as America's first research university, JHU has grown to include campuses in Maryland, Washington, D.C., China, Italy, and Singapore.

The addition of JHU, MTSU, and CMU comes as a natural outgrowth of a partnership between those schools and ORAU in pursuing science, technology, engineering, and math education through a Congressionally mandated Science and Engineering Education Pilot Program (SEEPP). Authorized in the Energy Policy Act of 2005, the SEEPP program is designed to help students teachers at every grade level-from kindergarten to college undergraduates, including teacher education-learn about scientific research in the country's leading laboratories and then put those methods back in their own classrooms and beyond.

ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 100 major Ph.D.-granting institutions, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee
Work: 865.576.3146
Cell: 865.603.5142

Wendy West
Work: 865.576.0028
Cell: 865.207.7953