Skip Navigation

ORISE Distributes NOAA Hollings Scholarships to Oceanic & Atmospheric Science Undergrads

July 17, 2006

Oak Ridge, Tenn.One hundred and one Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarships were recently awarded, at up to $8,000 each, to full-time junior and senior students for the 2006-2007 academic year. The program is administered by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education on behalf of the National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

The undergraduate scholarships, awarded in honor of Senator Hollings (South Carolina-D), who championed the creation of the NOAA and was among the most vocal of ocean advocates during his 36 years in Congress, are awarded annually to accredited college or university students interested in oceanic and atmospheric science, research, technology and education.

The purpose of the Hollings scholarship program is to increase public understanding and recruit and prepare students for public service careers or careers as teachers and educators in oceanic and atmospheric science.

Students are required to participate in a 10-week summer internship and attend the Hollings Scholarship Program conference at the completion of the internship.

The award recipients, representing 37 states including Alaska and Hawaii, are as follows:

Awardee Institution
Pfeiffer, Vera Whitney Boston University
Kelly-Hankin, Kaitlin Brandeis University
Greenbaum, Adam Joseph Brown University
Rice, Derrek Joseph Bucknell University
Morris, Christopher Jordan Calhoun Community College
Rodriguez, Gabriel Eduardo California State University
Carmichael, Shana Jennifer California State University-Monterey Bay
Spencer, Hannah Elizabeth Christopher Newport University
Calos, Stavros Efstratiou College of William & Mary
Salisbury, Andrew John Cornell University
Hoover, Kelli Jo Eckerd College
Nosach, Courtney Rose Eckerd College
Schmidt, Kimberly Erika Eckerd College
Stoffa, Andrew Robert Eckerd College
Widener, Daniel Lawrence Eckerd College
Weston, Graham Stuart Embry Riddle Aeronautical University
Phillips, Jessica Diane Florida Gulf Coast University
Seiler, Jason Michael Florida Institute of Technology
Boocock, Sean Thomas Georgetown University
Simon, Julie Ann Georgia Institute of Technology
Mitchell, Nicole Alicia Hampton University
Wang, Yiming Harvard University
Washburn, Frank Lloyd Harvard University
Longonje, Yvette Momow Howard University
Venable, Kar'retta Jackson State University
Robinson, John Christopher Big Sandy Community & Technical College
Coco, Patrick Nesbit Louisiana State University
Zavatsky, Andrew Thomas Massachusetts Maritime Academy
Garristson, Emily Margaret Miami University
Campbell, Allison B. Michigan State University
Byers, Randall Lee Millersville University of Pennsylvania
Colesberry, Julian Thomas Mt. Hood Community College
Bowker, Colleen Katharine North Carolina State University
Dodson, Amos Granville North Carolina State University
Rhodes, Michael Edward North Carolina State University
Gobert, Sonya Rae Northwest Indian College
Engerer, Nicholas Allen Ohio University
Murnan, Matthew Lewis Oklahoma City Community College
Brown, Sandi Ranita Paine College
Sabbatelli, Thomas Andrew Pennsylvania State University
Seroka, Gregory Nicholas Pennsylvania State University
Michaud, Daniel Scott Plymouth State University
Payer, Melissa D. Plymouth State University
Pingree, Katherine Anne Plymouth State University
Rennie, James Jared Plymouth State University
Datla, Kirti Rice University
Armbruster, Eric Russell Saint Louis University
Kitasei, Saya Snow Stanford University
Komaromi, William Anthony SUNY-University of Albany
Shoop, Jonathan Bassett Swarthmore College
Humbyrd, Chelsea Joy Texas A&M University
Keenon, Shannon Michelle Texas A&M University
Russell, Glenn Travis Texas A&M University
Gaylord, Shonda Takia The College of New Rochelle
Dean, Cayla Whitney The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Kilbourne, Byron Frank The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Vizza, Carmella Tulane University
McGaha, Michelle Leigh University of Alabama
Switzer, Jackson Reeves University of Alabama
Whisenhunt, James Dylan University of Alabama
Lowe, Crystal M. University of Alabama
Hondolero, Dominic Emilio University of Alaska-Fairbanks
Barnes, David Allen University of Arizona
Vu, Elizabeth Tram-Anh University of California-Berkeley
Biller, Dondra Victoria University of California-San Diego
Morales, Noah Sebastian University of California-Santa Barbara
Rye, Cassia Lane University of Colorado
Sewell, Holly Lynn University of Colorado
Sayers, Jennifer L. University of Connecticut
Lopez, Jacqueline University of Florida
Meiner, Melissa Ann University of Hawaii at Hilo
Mullins, Stephanie Ann University of Louisiana-Monroe
Johnson, Benjamin Katsuo University of Maryland
Weiss, Joshua David University of Massachusetts-Lowell
Gardell, Alison Marie University of Miami
Williams, Nancy Louise University of Miami
Eckstein, Jason Adam University of Michigan
Mussoline, Sarah Elizabeth University of Michigan
Ocko, Iissa Bonnie University of Michigan
Heck, Colleen Cassidy University of Missouri-Columbia
Sjobert, Jeremiah Paul University of Nebraska
Vario, Chelsea Lynne University of New Hampshire
Carley, Jacob Richard University of North Carolina-Asheville
Harless, Amy Rebecca University of North Carolina-Asheville
Waters, Charles Devans University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Cedzo, Ashley Michael University of North Carolina-Wilmington
Hart, Katherine Marie University of North Carolina-Wilmington
Landon, Marian Elena University of North Carolina-Wilmington
Legatt, Rebecca Anne University of North Dakota
Albright, Whitney Leann University of Oklahoma
Baruth, Tristan Paul University of Oklahoma
Tannahill, Christine D.J. University of Oklahoma
Van Every, Mark Matthew University of Oklahoma
D'lppolito, Corinne Kathleen University of South Carolina
Hastings, Roxanne Hilary University of South Florida
Chang, Jennifer Ann University of Washington
Fridgen, Thaddeus Nelson Valparaiso University
Stuckmeyer, Elizabeth Anne Valparaiso University
Hyde, Stuart Thomas Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Rosbrugh, Damion Ray Windward Community College
Rath, Lara Ann Wittenberg University

For more information on the Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarship Program, visit

ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 100 major Ph.D.-granting institutions, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee
Work: 865.576.3146
Cell: 865.603.5142

Wendy West
Work: 865.576.0028
Cell: 865.207.7953