Skip Navigation

Some of the Nation’s Best Young Scientists to Converse About Chemistry with Nobel Laureates

June 16, 2009

OAK RIDGE, Tenn.—Seventy-four outstanding graduate research students from the United States will attend the 59th Annual Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates and Students in Lindau, Germany, from June 28–July 3. During the meeting, students will hear lectures by the Laureates and participate in discussions with them on chemistry.

Since 1951, Nobel Laureates in chemistry, physics and physiology/medicine have annually convened in Lindau to have open and informal meetings with students and young researchers from around the world. The meetings rotate by discipline annually with this year's event focusing on chemistry.

This year, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE); the National Institutes of Health (NIH); the National Science Foundation (NSF); Mars, Inc.; and Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) are being honored with the opportunity to bring the graduate research students to the 2009 meeting.

During the meeting, the Laureates will lecture in the mornings on the topic of their choice related to chemistry and participate in less formal small group discussions with the students in the afternoons. The primary purpose of the meeting is to allow participants—most of whom are students—to benefit from informal interaction with the Nobel Prize winners. During lunches and dinners, Laureates will join participants at local restaurants for informal discussions. Various networking events are also on the agenda to allow participants to meet other attendees from around the world.

Information will be posted daily to the ORAU–Lindau Web site while students are attending the meeting. Each day, photos and a summary of events will be posted.

The Web site and travel arrangements for these participants are being administered by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, a DOE institute managed by ORAU.

The graduate research student participants are as follows.

Sponsor: DOE

  • Jeffrey Gour, Michigan State University
  • Crysten Haas, University of Florida
  • Patrick Hayes, Northwestern University
  • Richard Helmich, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Judith Jenkins, University of Arizona
  • Brian King, Cornell University
  • Ashley Leonard, Rice University
  • Joseph McDermott, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Jeffrey McMahon, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Carolyn Phillips, University of Michigan
  • Britni Ratliff, University of Chicago
  • Stephen Stewart, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Erik Watkins, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Sponsor: Mars, Inc.

  • Mary Ati-Chama, University of Ghana
  • Yung-Jin Hu, University of California, Berkeley
  • Kwaku Kyeremeh, University of Ghana
  • Daniel Lewallen, University of Cincinnati
  • Matthew Linman, University of California, Riverside
  • Adam Mayernick, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Edmond O'Donnell, Oregon State University
  • Suzanne Opalka, Cornell University
  • Magaly Salinas, University of Texas, San Antonio
  • Cristiano Villela-Dias, State University of Santa Cruz

Sponsor: NIH

  • Imran Babar, Yale University
  • Sarah Bowman, University of Rochester
  • Chris Brosey, Vanderbilt University
  • Stefanie Bumpus, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Jayne Christen, Kansas State University
  • Andria Denmon, Rice University
  • Alison Hardin, University of California, Berkeley
  • Shawn Larson, University of South Florida
  • Erika Milczek, Emory University
  • Jennifer Murphy, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Leah Randles, University of Minnesota
  • Craig Smith, the Ohio State University
  • Kara Stowers, University of Michigan
  • Danielle Swaney, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Vincent Venditto, Texas A&M University

Sponsor: NSF

  • Christine Andres, University of Michigan
  • Trisha Andrew, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Ashleigh Baber, Tufts University
  • Yiqun Bai, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Stephanie Benight, University of Washington
  • Jillian Dempsey, California Institute of Technology
  • Christopher Evans, University of Rochester
  • Elizabeth Foreman, University of Akron
  • Timothy Kucharski, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Jeffrey Lancaster, Columbia University
  • Annette Lee, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Tony Ly, University of California, Riverside
  • Mark Maienschein-Cline, University of Chicago
  • Felicia McClary, Howard University
  • Andrew Pardo, University of Texas at El Paso
  • Jamie Reed, University of New Mexico
  • Bryan Ringstrand, Vanderbilt University
  • Kennett Rivero, University of Puerto Rico
  • Brooke Rosenzweig, Yale University
  • Marissa Saunders, University of Utah
  • Matthew Siebert, University of California, Davis
  • Melissae Stuart, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Aaron West, Iowa State University
  • Scott Wicker, Southern University and A&M College
  • Leah Witus, University of California, Berkeley

Sponsor: ORAU

  • Julianne Audiffred, Louisiana State University
  • John Graef, Wake Forest University
  • Garry Grubbs, University of North Texas
  • John Heckel, Clemson University
  • Jonathan Helmus, The Ohio State University
  • Peter Jacobson, Tulane University
  • Elizabeth Jenista, Duke University
  • David Kryscio, University of Texas, Austin
  • Melissa Laird, Medical College of Georgia
  • Konrad Mueller, University of Texas, Dallas
  • Brandi Reese, Texas A&M University

ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 100 major Ph.D.-granting institutions, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee
Work: 865.576.3146
Cell: 865.603.5142

Wendy West
Work: 865.576.0028
Cell: 865.207.7953