Skip Navigation

ORAU welcomes Texas Tech University as consortium member

University of the District of Columbia Joins as Associate Member and Member of HBCU/MEI Council

Oct. 19, 2011

OAK RIDGE, Tenn.—Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) recently welcomed Texas Tech University as a member of its consortium of major Ph.D.-granting universities. The University of the District of Columbia was also accepted as an associate member.

“Texas Tech is an exciting addition to our growing university consortium with much to contribute to the research expertise ORAU offers its federal partners,” said ORAU President and CEO Andy Page. “In addition, we look forward to expanding the many opportunities TTU offers students and faculty researchers.”

ORAU has 99 members in 27 states ranging from Idaho and Pennsylvania to California, as well as the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and London, England. Its members award more than 37 percent of the nation’s Ph.D.s in science and engineering and make up 37 of the top 100 research and development universities. ORAU was formed 65 years ago under the auspices of the Oak Ridge Institute for Nuclear Studies and originally consisted of 14 southern schools.

Texas Tech University, recently designated as an emerging research university by the state of Texas, and therefore eligible for significant state investment in research, is on its way to becoming a state-designated, national research university in 2012. The university’s 2010 strategic plan charts a course to become a great public research university by 2020. The university has characteristics of a Carnegie-classified doctorate-granting university with very high research productivity and is ranked by both the National Science Foundation and the Center for Measuring University Performance among the top 150 research universities in the country. It is expected that Texas Tech will at least double the size of its research activity by 2020. Texas Tech is actively engaged in strategic and cluster hiring to add capacity in critical areas tied to its strategic research themes. For more information, visit

The University of the District of Columbia, the only fully-accredited public institution of higher education in the nation’s capital, is also joining the consortium as an associate member. UDC is also one of 22 member institutions that comprise ORAU’s council of historically black colleges and universities and minority educational institutions.

An urban land-grant university, the UDC supports a broad mission of education, research and community service across all member colleges and schools, which include the Community College, College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability and Environmental Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences, School of Business and Public Administration, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and David A. Clarke School of Law. For more information, visit

ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 100 major Ph.D.-granting institutions, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee
Work: 865.576.3146
Cell: 865.603.5142

Wendy West
Work: 865.576.0028
Cell: 865.207.7953