Skip Navigation

Top graduate students from U.S. convene with Nobel Laureates in Lindau, Germany

June 12, 2013

OAK RIDGE, Tenn.—Seventy-three of the top graduate student researchers from the United States were chosen to attend the 63rd Annual Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau, Germany, from June 30 to July 5.

Nearly 625 young researchers from 78 countries will attend the week-long meeting in Germany dedicated to chemistry this year. The 2013 group of students is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy, Mars, Incorporated, the National Science Foundation and ORAU.

Since 1951, Nobel Laureates have annually convened in Lindau to have open and informal meetings with students and young researchers from around the world. Laureates and students exchange ideas, discuss projects and build international networks throughout the week. All attendees must pass through a competitive application and selection process managed by the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings.

“The Lindau meetings are extremely important to pass the torch, and excite the next generations of scientists,” stated Dimitri V. Nanopoulos of Texas A&M University. “We should all help to be always first class and keep the impact on our youth intact.”

Throughout the week, the 35 participating Laureates will lecture in the mornings on the topic of their choice related to chemistry and participate in smaller question and answer sessions in the afternoons. Students will also interact with the Laureates and other international students during the week for more informal discussions. This year, with the addition of science master classes, a select few researchers will have the opportunity to present their research to a Nobel Laureate and a small group of their peers.

For more information regarding the 63rd Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates and Students, visit the ORAU-Lindau website. The ORAU-Lindau website and all logistical arrangements for the participants are being administered by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, a DOE institute managed by ORAU.

The 73 students, listed by sponsor, are:

U.S. Department of Energy Lindau Meeting Participants

Student Name University Name Research Specialty
Jian Cui Massachusetts Institute of Technology Chemistry
Shakeel Dalal University of Wisconsin Madison Physical Chemistry
Stephen Donaldson University of California, Santa Barbara Chemical Engineering
Matthew Gott Los Alamos National Laboratory Chemistry
Lara Jazmin Vanderbilt University Chemical Engineering
Andrew Keane University of Maryland Chemistry
Karthish Manthiram Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Chemical Engineering
Heather Mayes Northwestern University Chemical Engineering
Amanda Neukirch University of Rochester Physics
Allix Sanders Johns Hopkins University Chemistry
Zachary Smith University of Texas at Austin Chemical Engineering
Nella Vargas-Barbosa Pennsylvania State University Chemistry
Alison Wendlandt University of Wisconsin-Madison Chemistry
Alexander White University of California, San Diego Chemistry

Mars, Inc., Lindau Meeting Participants

Student Name University Name Research Specialty
Evelyn Auyeung Northwestern University Materials Science and Engineering
Daphne Che Stanford University Chemistry
Daniel Eichelsdoerfer Northwestern University Chemistry
Kristy Jost Drexel University Materials Science and Engineering
Ashok Kumar Harvard University Applied Physics
Sravanti Kusuma Johns Hopkins University Biomedical Engineering
Joseph Schonhoft Johns Hopkins University Molecular Biophysics
Matthew Wilson University of Notre Dame Organic Chemistry
Pablo Zamora University of California, Davis Biotechnology
Steven Banik Harvard University Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Joan Bleecker University of Washington Chemistry
Allison Chambliss Johns Hopkins University Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Stephen Fried Stanford University Chemistry
Kim Gonzalez Rice University Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Kevin Hauser Stony Brook University Chemistry
Jeffrey Martell Massachusetts Institute of Technology Chemistry
Elizabeth Ploetz Kansas State University Chemistry
Mary Popovech New York University Env Health Sciences-Molecular Toxicology
Kelly Schermerhorn Brown University Chemistry
Callie Wigington Emory University Biochemistry

National Science Foundation Lindau Meeting Participants

Student Name University Name Research Specialty
John Bender University of Maryland Physical Chemistry
Aimee Bryan University of California, Davis Chemistry
Zachary Bryan University of Michigan Chemistry
John Colson Cornell University Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Neil Eschmann University of California, Santa Barbara Chemistry
Jennifer Faust University of Wisonsin- Madison Chemistry
Junje Hao Harvard University Chemistry
Rachel Hodges Michigan State University Experimental Nuclear Physics
Candy Hwang University of Southern California Chemistry
Alisha Jones University of Washington Chemistry
Jacob Kanady California Institute of Technology Chemistry
Leah Kuritzky University of California, Santa Barbara Materials Engineering
Se Ryeon Lee University of Michigan Chemistry
Matthew McDonald University of Notre Dame Chemistry
Abiola Olatunde University of Buffalo Chemistry
Matthew O’Reilly University of Florida Chemistry
Stafford Sheehan Yale University Physical Chemistry
David Spiciarich University of California, Berkeley Chemistry
Michele Stover University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa Chemistry
Crystal Valdez University of California, Los Angeles Physical Chemistry
Kanny Ka Kei Wan The Scripps Research Institute Organic Chemistry
Erin Wilson University of Notre Dame Organic Chemistry
Anna Wirth University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Physical Chemistry
Diane Wu Stanford University Chemistry

Oak Ridge Associated Universities Meeting Participants

Student Name University Name Research Specialty
Richard Cochran University of North Dakota Chemistry
Robert Gilliard University of Georgia Chemistry
Brian Gold Florida State University Chemistry
Brandon Haines University of Notre Dame Organic Chemistry
Joshua Hill New Mexico State University Chemical Engineering
Elizabeth Kelley University of Delaware Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Steven Kelley University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa Inorganic Chemistry
Jonathan Moerdyk University of Texas at Austin Chemistry
Cameron Moore University of Michigan Chemistry
Yoshie Narui Emory University Chemistry
Amanda Nolan University of Texas at San Antonio Chemistry
Nicole Ostrowski University of Pittsburgh Bioengineering
Katy Sherlach Georgetown University Chemistry
Sonia So Ohio State University Organic Chemistry
Adria Wilson Duke University Chemistry

ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 100 major Ph.D.-granting institutions, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee
Work: 865.576.3146
Cell: 865.603.5142

Wendy West
Work: 865.576.0028
Cell: 865.207.7953