Skip Navigation

ORAU welcomes four new sponsoring institutions

ORAU welcomes new members during its 67th annual meeting of the Council of Sponsoring Institutions

March 24, 2016

OAK RIDGE, Tenn.—ORAU recently welcomed Ohio University, University of Colorado-Denver, University of Louisiana at Lafayette and The University of Toledo as its newest sponsoring institutions during the 71st annual meeting of the ORAU Council of Sponsoring Institutions, held in Oak Ridge, Tenn. Missouri University of Science and Technology and the University of Texas at San Antonio also both transitioned from their prior associate memberships to become sponsoring institutions.

"We're honored to have these four institutions join our growing university consortium," said ORAU President and CEO Andy Page. "The research and education capabilities of these universities strengthen the value of our consortium."

ORAU has 121 members across the United States as well as the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and England. Formed 68 years ago under the auspices of the Oak Ridge Institute for Nuclear Studies, ORAU originally consisted of 14 southern schools.

An ORAU sponsoring institution is a non-profit institution of higher learning granting doctoral degrees in multiple science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields.

Founded in 1828, Ohio University is the oldest public institution of higher learning in Ohio. Ohio University has been cited for academic quality and value by such publications as U.S. News and World Report, America's 100 Best College Buys, Princeton Review's Best Colleges, and Peterson's Guide to Competitive Colleges. A four-year public institution, the university has more than 39,000 students, and online programs further advance the university's commitment to providing educational access and opportunity. At Ohio University, all forms of research, scholarship, and creative activity are vital to the intellectual life of the University, and their integration into both graduate and undergraduate curricula is a key component of student success.

The University of Colorado Denver is one of the nation's top public urban research universities. The university has more than 14,000 students at its comprehensive campus in downtown Denver, and more than 4,000 students in its research and advanced health care programs at the CU Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora, Colorado. The University offers more than 140 programs in 13 schools and colleges at the undergraduate, graduate, doctoral and professional health levels, including some that rank among the nation's best. Through its partnerships with business and industry, public schools and local governments, health care clinics and other community outreach programs, the University of Colorado Denver is an integral part of the Denver metro area and Colorado.

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette offers an exceptional education informed by diverse worldviews grounded in tradition, heritage, and culture. The second-largest university in Louisiana, with over 19,000 students, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette develops leaders and innovators who advance knowledge, cultivate aesthetic sensibility, and improve the human condition. Student programs range from the humanities to hard sciences, and the university is among the nation's leaders in areas such as computer science, environmental biology, and nursing. Ranked among the top 180 universities in the United States in R&D expenditures, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette specializes in applied research that solves real-world problems.

The University of Toledo is one of 14 state universities in Ohio. Established in 1872, The University of Toledo and the Medical University of Ohio merged in July 2006 to form the third-largest public university operating budget in the state. The university mission is to improve the human condition; to advance knowledge through excellence in learning, discovery and engagement; and to serve as a diverse, student-centered public metropolitan research university. With more than 300 undergraduate, graduate and professional programs offered, The University of Toledo has researchers working at all level—from undergraduates to faculty—and holds 125 patents and nearly $60 million in funding and grants.

ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 100 major Ph.D.-granting institutions, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee
Work: 865.576.3146
Cell: 865.603.5142

Wendy West
Work: 865.576.0028
Cell: 865.207.7953