Skip to main content

21 U.S. students chosen to attend 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

U.S. doctoral students will join 39 Nobel Laureates for physics meeting

OAK RIDGE, Tenn.—Twenty-one U.S. doctoral student leaders in physics have been chosen to attend the 69th Annual Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting this summer.

This year’s meeting will be held from June 30 to July 5 at the Inselhalle in Lindau, Germany. The 21 U.S. participants will be among 580 young scientists from more than 88 countries around the world who will have the opportunity to meet and interact with 39 Nobel Laureates.

From the U.S. participants, ORAU is funding 10 students, while an additional five (5) participants are sponsored by Lockheed Martin and the remaining six (6) are supported by other organizations.

During the five-day meeting period, students will have the opportunity to attend lectures given by the Laureates and to participate in informal discussions regarding meeting topics while networking with international students in the field of physics. Since 1951, Nobel Laureates have annually convened in Lindau to have open and informal meetings with students and researchers from around the world.

“The Lindau Nobel Laureate meetings provide young researchers the opportunity to engage in meaningful and intellectual dialogue with experts in their chosen disciplines about cutting-edge research developments,” said Jennifer Callais, who manages the program for ORAU. “During the meeting, young scientists build relationships and professional networks for future collaborations. This unique experience is invaluable to students.”

Students invited to attend the meeting must first pass a competitive application and selection process managed by ORAU in conjunction with the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings.

For more information regarding the Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates, visit the ORAU-Lindau website.

69th Annual Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

ORAU Lindau Meeting Participants
Student Name University Name Research Specialty
Grace Chesmore University of Michigan Physics
Deborah Ferguson Georgia Institute of Technology Physics
Alec Fisher Florida State University Physics
Kyle Godbey Vanderbilt University Physics and Astronomy
Kirsten Hall Johns Hopkins University Physics and Astronomy
Patrick Harrington Washington University in St. Louis Physics
Gregory Rischbieter SUNY at Albany Physics
Gregory Simchick University of Georgia Physics and Astronomy
Savanna Starko Vanderbilt University Physics and Astronomy
Zachary Steelman Duke University Biophotonics
Lockheed Martin Lindau Meeting Participants
Student Name University Name Research Specialty
Alex An University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign Physics
Christopher Lane Northeastern University Physics
Alina Pineiro Escalera University of Maryland, College Park Physics
Jedidiah Thompson Stanford University Physics
Dacen Waters Carnegie Mellon University Physics
Lindau Meeting Participants with Various Sponsors
Student Name University Name Sponsor Research Specialty
Greta Babakhanova Kent State University Advanced Materials and Liquid Crystal Institute Chemical Physics
Joshua Bocarsly University of California Santa Barbara Privately Sponsored Inorganic Materials
Tiara Diamond Florida State University Privately Sponsored Physics
Miguel Holgado University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana NSF Astrophysics
Samuel Lane University of Kansas Privately Sponsored Physics and Astronomy
Elayne Thomas University of California Santa Barbara Privately Sponsored Materials

About ORAU

ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 150 colleges and universities, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee Director, Communications Work: 865.576.3146 Cell: 865.603.5142
Wendy West Manager, Communications Work: 865.576.0028 Cell: 865.207.7953