American Delegation to the
Heidelberg Laureate Forum in
Heidelberg, Germany

Past Meetings of the
Heidelberg Laureate Forum

2015 | 2014


Held August 23-28, 2015

Summary of the Forum

The HLF gave these early career researchers an opportunity for interaction that is typically not available within the normal university environment or in their home university department, whereby the Laureates provide formal plenary lectures small group discussions with topics driven by a combination of prepared presentations by the Laureates as well as student questions. Many fellow ACM Turing Award recipients were key contributors to the event. In 2015, Leslie Lamport (Turing Award, 2014) gave a compelling lecture advocating the use of mathematics in the description of computer systems to aid in their construction and analysis. Manuel Blum (Turing Award, 1995) brought drama to the stage by demonstrating how he could brief four volunteers on ways to “compute” passwords at need without memorizing them. Sir Tony Hoare (Turing Award, 1980) reminded the researchers that the roots of computation and science go back to Aristotle, Euclid and other philosophers who have advanced the state of the art over millennia. Edmund Clarke (Turing Award, 2007) drew the young researchers’ attention to the importance of being able to say something about the correctness of computations dealing with real, continuous quantities (“hybrid systems“). 

Laureates in mathematical prizes also contributed heavily to the event by providing insight in to a broad selection of topics related to mathematics, regardless of their field.  For example, computer scientist and Turing Award winner Leslie Lamport (2014) gave a compelling lecture advocating the use of mathematics in the description of computer systems to aid in their construction and analysis.  Among some of the most popular talks, Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan, (Abel Prize, 2007) gave a plenary lecture entitled “Entropy and its many Avatars” and Endre Szemerédi (Abel Prize, 2012) reminded the researchers of ways in which innovation forces us to change our perspective on mathematics in his talk “The Shifting Method.”

In 2015, American graduate students in computer science and mathematics were among 200 selected from a very competitive pool of over 1000 applicants. The forum attendees represented 60 countries and six continents.

2015 Participant List

Student Name University Name Research Specialty
Sarah Cannon Georgia Institute of Technology Computer Science
Giulia DeSalvo New York University (Courant Institute) Mathematics
Manaal Faruqui Carnegie Mellon University Computer Science
Emilio Ferrara Indiana University Computer Science
Hu Fu Cornell University Computer Science
Jennifer Iglesias Carnegie Mellon University Mathematics
Charles Kamhoua Florida International University Computer Science
Mayank Kejriwal University of Texas at Austin Computer Science
Leandro Lichtenfelz University of Notre Dame Mathematics
Feng-Hao Liu Brown University Computer Science
QiongLing Li Rice University Mathematics
Alexander Diaz Lopez University of Notre Dame Mathematics
Timothy Marrinan Colorado State University Mathematics
Kuldeep Singh Meel Rice University Computer Science
Scott Moore Harvard University Computer Science
Genevieve Patterson Brown University Computer Science
Xuehai Qian University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Computer Science
Ahmad Rafiqi Cornell University Mathematics
Yan Wang George Institute of Technology Mathematics


2014 Participant List

Held September 21-26, 2014

Student Name University Name Research Specialty
Jared Aurentz Washington State University Mathematics
Asilata Bapat University of Chicago Mathematics
Renato Bettiol Notre Dame Mathematics
Adrian Brunyate University of Georgia Mathematics
Rachel Cummings Northwestern University Computer Science
Parasara Sridhar Duggirala University of Illinois Computer Science
Tegan Emerson Colorado State Mathematics
Amal Fahad University of Rochester Computer Science
Xi He Duke Computer Science
Xia Hu Arizona State University Computer Science
Anvesh Komuravelli Carnegie Mellon Computer Science
Soon Ho Kong Carnegie Mellon Computer Science
Danai Koutra Carnegie Mellon Computer Science
Joonseok Lee Georgia Tech Computer Science
Jing Li Washington University in St. Louis Computer Science
Eoin O'Mahony Cornell Computer Science
Sahil Singla Carnegie Mellon Mathematics
Balaji Subramaniam Virginia Tech Computer Science
Chuntian Wang Indiana University Mathematics
Rujie Yin Duke Mathematics

[Return to Top]