Skip to main content

ORAU welcomes four new institutions to its university consortium

Announcement made at 73rd annual meeting of the ORAU Council of Sponsoring Institutions

OAK RIDGE, Tenn.—ORAU recently welcomed Oregon State University, the University at Albany and Missouri University of Science and Technology as its newest sponsoring institutions during the 73rd annual meeting of its Council of Sponsoring Institutions. Spelman College was named a new associate member.

“We are honored to have these four institutions join our growing university consortium,” said ORAU President and CEO Andy Page. “Membership in ORAU’s consortium broadens the already diverse opportunities these universities provide for students and faculty researchers in many critical areas of science and technology.”

With these latest additions, ORAU’s university consortium now includes 122 sponsoring institutions across the nation. Now in its 71st year, ORAU originally was formed under the auspices of the Oak Ridge Institute for Nuclear Studies and consisted of 14 academic institutions.

An ORAU sponsoring institution is a nonprofit institution of higher learning granting doctoral degrees in multiple science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields. Associate members are institutions of higher learning offering bachelor’s, master’s, or a limited number of doctoral degrees in the STEM fields.

Oregon State University is a public, nonprofit institution accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Schools. OSU places special research emphasis in life sciences; geosciences, atmospheric sciences and ocean sciences; and engineering. The university is ranked 75th in the nation for federal research and development expenditures and is one of only two universities in the United States to have Sea Grant, Space Grant and Sun Grant designations. OSU is home to the nation’s largest health physics program by number of graduates, and its nuclear engineering program was recently ranked No. 11 in the nation.

The University at Albany is a public, nonprofit institution accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. UAlbany places special research emphasis in social and life sciences as well as geosciences, atmospheric sciences and ocean sciences. The university is ranked 121st in the nation for federal research and development expenditures. The university is expanding, and two of its newly launched colleges—Engineering and Applied Sciences, and Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cyber Security—are already seeing rapid growth. UAlbany’s New York State Mesonet, a new statewide network of 126 mesoscale weather observation stations, is the most advanced network of its kind in the nation.

Missouri University of Science and Technology is a public, nonprofit institution accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. It offers 97 degree programs in 39 areas of study. MUST places special research emphasis in engineering, physical sciences, and computer and information sciences. Engineering undergraduates can choose from a wide variety of majors, including aerospace engineering, mining engineering, petroleum engineering and engineering management, and the university also offers many engineering graduate degree programs. The university’s teacher education program for secondary education is ranked among the best in the nation by the National Council on Teacher Quality. The university is ranked 219th in the nation for federal research and development expenditures. In 2018, MUST was ranked No. 165 in National Universities by U.S. News and World Report.

Spelman College is a private, nonprofit, all female Historically Black Colleges and Universities institution accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Spelman College has strong research activity in life sciences, psychology and physical sciences. Spelman College is among the eight HBCUs that awarded the most degrees in science and engineering from 2008 to 2012, according to a 2015 report by the National Science Foundation. The college was recognized by NSF as the leading producer of black women who continue their education to earn doctorates in the sciences. Spelman faculty members are actively engaged in advancing their fields through rigorous research, and 100 percent of full-time, tenure-track STEM faculty members hold doctoral degrees. Spelman College’s research infrastructure has had steady growth in federal agency research grants.

About ORAU

ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 150 colleges and universities, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee Director, Communications Work: 865.576.3146 Cell: 865.603.5142
Wendy West Manager, Communications Work: 865.576.0028 Cell: 865.207.7953