Skip to main content

Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards

Powe Awards help ORAU member institutions retain their best young faculty members

Our commitment to enriching the research skills and professional growth of young faculty members at ORAU member institutions is embodied in the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards Program. These competitive research awards provide seed money for junior faculty members that often result in additional funding from other sources. The award amount provided by ORAU is $5,000. The applicant’s institution is required to match the award with at least an additional $5,000. This is a one-year grant (June 1 to May 31).

Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards
Interested in being a reviewer for this year’s Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards process? Complete this brief contact form, including your specific area of expertise, and someone will be in contact with you.

Eligibility for the Powe Awards is open to full-time assistant professors at ORAU member institutions within two years of their tenure track appointment at the time of application. If there is a question about eligibility, your ORAU Councilor makes the final determination. Only two nominations are allowed per institution.

Research projects must fall within one of these five disciplines:

  • Engineering and Applied Science
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics/Computer Sciences
  • Physical Sciences
  • Policy, Management, or Education

Junior faculty members interested in applying should consult their ORAU Councilor, and visit the frequently asked questions.

Application submissions close on January 9, 2023.

2021-22 Powe Award winners

2021-2022 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award Winners
Award Recipient Member Institution

Cheryl Andam

University at Albany

Ali Bramson

Purdue University

Spencer Bryngelson

Georgia Institute of Technology

Brandon Bukowski

Johns Hopkins University

Joshua Cashaback

University of Delaware

Dongchang Chen

University of New Mexico

Haonan Chen

Colorado State University

Eric Coughlin

Syracuse University

Damilola Daramola

Ohio University

Meenal Datta

University of Notre Dame

Brittany Givens Rassoolkhani

University of Kentucky

Julian Heeck

University of Virginia

Jingjie Hu

North Carolina State University

Yoon Hwa

Arizona State University

Laura Jacox

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Natasha Johnson

University of Toledo

Priya Kumar

Pennsylvania State University

John Martin

University of Cincinnati

Kristen Mink

Idaho State University

Talia Moore

University of Michigan

Bogdan Nica

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Walter Pettus

Indiana University

Ralm Ricarte

Florida A&M University

Nicholas Rolston

Arizona State University

Kasra Sardashti

Clemson University

Manish Shetty

Texas A&M University

Hosop Shin

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Cesar Uribe

Rice University

Shreya Vemuganti

University of Oklahoma

Guanyang Wang

Rutgers University

Wei Wang

University of Tennessee

Andrew Wilson

University of Louisville

Haifan Wu

Wichita State University

Xiaoyong Yuan

Michigan Technological University

Zhengwu Zhang

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Lingling Zhao

University of Alabama in Huntsville

MITRE Award Recipient Member Institution

Xiaolei Huang

University of Memphis

Deborah Jehu

Augusta University

Jillian Scheer

Syracuse University

Mary Stitt

University at Albany

Asha Winfield

Louisiana State University

Powe Award recipient explores the use of digital tools to address autism in rural areas

Powe Award recipient explores the use of digital tools to address autism in rural areas

Ying Hao, assistant professor of communication sciences and disorders at the University of Mississippi, is exploring ways virtual technology, like telepractice, can bring communication tools to the families of children with autism spectrum disorders living in rural areas.

Continue reading

Contact us

For more information about the Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards, contact the University Partnerships office at 865.576.6513 or